Subscribe to this thread
Home - General / All posts - split shapefile based on attributes
DaveW2 post(s)
#31-Aug-16 14:04

Hi All,

I am new to manifold, and cant seem to find a simple method to split a shapefile according to attributes. At present having to go into the table and complete manually.

any help greatly appreciated!

firsttube

1,439 post(s)
#31-Aug-16 14:28

Can you clarify what you mean by "split a shapefile"?

I assume you mean you want to cut some objects out of a Drawing and paste them to a new drawing based on a certain value in a column in the Drawing's table.

You can use the selection bar to perform a selection on a particular column in the drawing's table. You could also create a Query and run the query to perform the selection. Then open the drawing and choose Edit > Cut. Then right-click in the project pane and choose Paste As > Drawing.

"The blessing in life is finding the torture you are comfortable with." - Jerry Seinfeld, 6/26/2013

DaveW2 post(s)
#31-Aug-16 14:44

Thanks firsttube.

Sorry but I am new to this so don't have the language down.

To explain through an example, I have a Drawing with the road network for a country, the attribute table split into types as National, Regional, secondary, tertiary etc. - in order to create a separate Drawing for each type of road I now copy each type and create a new Drawing. This can get tedious if there are 20 road types, and I have many other Shapefiles which need this split.

Appreciate any help, thanks!!

firsttube

1,439 post(s)
#31-Aug-16 17:28

My next question is: why do you need a separate drawing for each type of road? Are you wanting to theme the different road types in a map or layout? If so, you can use a Theme component for this.

In Manifold you can create queries and then link a drawing to a query to create a "new" drawing.

"The blessing in life is finding the torture you are comfortable with." - Jerry Seinfeld, 6/26/2013

tonyw
547 post(s)
#31-Aug-16 17:28

Hi DaveW