Subscribe to this thread
Home - General / All posts - What is the difference between Lat/Long and Web Mercator
Forest
578 post(s)
#02-May-18 01:35

Both Lat/Long and Web Mercator use WGS84 as a datum and latitude and longitude. The coordinate values are the same for survey pegs in the ground for both projections. This suggests that only the shape of polygons as seen on screen will vary and so will the intrinsic variables for perimeter and area. If you don't care about shape, or the precise values of perimeter or area (e.g. habitat maps), then it really will not matter whether you use web mercator or lat/long. If you look up the definition for web mercator coordinates, they are the same as WGS84 but the coordinate order is switched to x,y.

tjhb

8,273 post(s)
#02-May-18 03:17

There's a lot to be unpacked carefully here, and I am not very good at it.

The first sentence is not quite true. Web Mercator expresses locations in WGS84 coordinates, that is, coordinates over the WGS84 ellipsoid, but then re-interprets them "as if" they lay on a sphere having the same radius as the semi-major axis of the WGS84 datum (so with the same radius at the Equator, but with no flattening).

(Latitude / Longitude measures coordinates in degrees. Web Mercator only pretends to measure in degrees: underlying the pretence it is really in metres, like standard Mercator but less accurate.)

The second and last sentences are true. [Correcting myself. I was wrong before. This is tricky.] Coordinates match, although they will not show in the same place when visualized in the plane (because of the misalignment mentioned above).

The middle parts are true as well. To rephrase, if you don't want to use Web Mercator for (a) planimetric display, (b) measurement or (c) navigation, it is OK. It is fine for storing data, and for visualization on a 3D sphere (as in Google Earth).

Have a look on the EPSG registry for code 3857, especially the stuff off to the side:

Remarks: