Subscribe to this thread
Home - General / All posts - creating multi-ring, non-overlapping buffers in Manifold 9 SQL
artlembo

3,400 post(s)
#26-Jun-18 17:19

I just posted a new video on how to use SQL in Manifold 9 to create multi-ring, non-overlapping buffers. In this example, larger buffers are trimmed to the edges of the smaller buffers.

The video is 16 minutes long, but I show you the answer at the beginning. If you want, you can watch the rest of the video to see the logic in structuring the SQL. It not only gives you a very useful tool for your GIS toolbox, but helps you think about the logic of how to create a more sophisticated SQL query, one step at a time.

You can see the video here.

StanNWT
196 post(s)
#20-Sep-18 19:38

Hi Art,

I just watched your video, great to see. However, because of the resolution of the video it's hard to see many parts. Regardless of this, I'm a beginner to Manifold SQL9, so I am wondering how I can take my a complex country polygon and create multi-ring non-overlapping buffers to it at the following distances: (500, 1000, 1500, 2000, 2500, 3000, 3500, 4000, 4500, 5000, 5500, 6000, 6500, 7000, 7500, 8000, 8500, 9000, 9500, 10000)? Distances are in meters. I like the little 0.1 interval at the start so that when you have the tolerance of 1, that it wipes away the 0-0.1 buffer completely. I tried to use the buffer transform and modify it at least generate the buffers before removing the overlap, but I get a cannot parse query statement. I know I jumped into the middle with this, trying to use an example of someone's code to apply it to my data, but I figured it was worth a shot. Below is the code I tried to write in the command window:

The source for the data is still in an Esri File GeoDatabase.

-- $manifold$

-- Auto-generated

-- Transform - Buffer - updateField

PRAGMA ( ' progress.percentnext ' = ' 100 ' ) ;

UPDATE (

SELECT [OBJECTID] ,

[shape ] ,

GeomBuffer( [shape ], result, O) AS gl, result AS bufdist