Subscribe to this thread
Home - General / All posts - Finding valves along pipes
mathva26 post(s)
#07-Aug-18 09:32

Hi!

I have a specific problem, and I can not find the right answer in existing posts.

I have a pipe network and valves along them. In some places, the lines where the valve is are interrupted in other cases does not. There are no always vertices in the lines where there are valves. But all valves are snaped on pipes.

What I want to do. In the event of a malfunction on a certain part of pipiline (red mark, see example below), I want to find all the valves that I need to close so that the defect can be eliminated.

I'm using M8.

Any help or idea is welcome. Unfortunately, I am not an expert in writing scripts.

I added an example below.

Best regards, Mat

Attachments:
Find_valves.map

adamw

8,242 post(s)
#12-Aug-18 09:07

This is not an easy problem.

Finding pipes affected by the defect is easy, you can do this with a short query:

--SQL

SELECT * FROM Pipes WHERE EXISTS

(SELECT * FROM Defect WHERE Distance(Pipes.ID, Defect.ID) < 1)

Finding pipes connected to specified pipes and finding valves on specified pipes is similarly easy.

But you want to figure out which valves you have to close to fix the problem. In general, this calls for an iterative process and this can only be done using a script.