Subscribe to this thread
Home - General / All posts - Automatically create view(/layout) along a line with a defined scale.
Hess3 post(s)
#04-Sep-18 14:21

Hi everybody, another newbie here .

I would like to produce different layout (format A3) with a defined scale (1/750) along a line which is over 70km. Instead of create each view manually and then create a layout based on that view, do you know if there is another solution less time consuming on Manifold 8.

You can find below an overview of what I would like to do. The red rectangle are the view that I would like to generate automatically, if it's possible.

Attachments:
Overview.PNG

adamw

8,061 post(s)
#05-Sep-18 09:48

You can create the views, create a layout, set it to show the first view, then copy and paste the layout a number of times and adjust each copy to use a different view (that is, you do not have to re-create each layout from scratch, can just make a copy of an existing model layout and do a minor adjustment on the result).

You can also create a layout for each view using a script. The views of a component are accessed via Component.ViewSet, creating a new layout is done using Document.NewLayout, then you add a layout entry for the target component using, say, Layout.EntrySet.AddComponent and set the entry to show the desired view using LayoutEntry.Scope / ScopeDetail. Or you can copy and paste an existing layout using Component.Copy and Document.Paste, then adjusting the layout to show the desired view as above.

You can create views using a script as well - if you have the boxes in the screen as vector data.

Forest
574 post(s)
#06-Sep-18 02:51

Hi Hess,