Subscribe to this thread
Home - General / All posts - Finding an Area Covered by Overlapping Polygons
#06-Nov-18 16:57

Hi there,

I'm an absolute novice trying to teach myself Manifold, and I've come up against an issue that I need some help with. I'm hoping that somebody can lend a hand.

I have a shape file containing a number of circular polygons that represent tree crowns, and I am trying to calculate the total canopy coverage. The problem is that many of the crowns overlap with each other. I understand that I can find the area of each individual polygon in its row on the data table, but I can't just add all of these areas together, as I don't want to include the overlapping parts multiple times - I just need the area of ground that is covered by tree canopies.

Is there a way to calculate this figure?

All the best,

Leyland

tjhb
10,094 post(s)
#06-Nov-18 17:24

Manifold 8 or Manifold 9.

One way is to use a side-effect of the Normalize Topology transform, since it removes overlaps between areas.

That is destructive, so apply the transform to a duplicate of the drawing. Then you can simply sum the remaining area values (perhaps using a ViewBot if it is Manifold 8, otherwise SQL).

Even simpler: again create a duplicate of the drawing, then apply the Union transform. This gives you a single area, with overlaps resolved, and a single area value for the whole canopy.

StanNWT
196 post(s)
#06-Nov-18 17:24

Hi there,

Based on some novice viewing, and what I would do in a different GIS application, and finding the corresponding ones in Manifold 9, I would think the following two transforms would set you up nicely to get what you're looking for:

• Buffer
  • Union Areas

Then calculate your area(s)?

Your buffer could have a distance that is 0.0001 cm?

Or make a duplicate of that drawing of the tree canopies and do a "Union Areas".

ColinD

2,081 post(s)
#07-Nov-18 00:19