Subscribe to this thread
Home - General / All posts - Manifold 9 hanging
tjhb

8,335 post(s)
#09-Nov-18 22:46

Over the past week, using I have had a number of permanent hangs (about four, with "permanent" meaning hours if left alone) in the following general situation.

I have been editing SQL, running a single statement with Alt-Enter, then executing another action, such as running a different statement in the same query, or toggling the !fullfetch directive.

In some cases I have initiated the second action without waiting for the first to return all of its results. (I am unsure whether this is a supported scenario, but it is permitted.) In other cases, such as the case that just occurred,* I did wait for the first statement to finish returning results, before toggling !fullfetch on (it was previously off).

[*Correction: the present case was not a permanent hang. It lasted only long enough for me to write this post. (I'm a slow writer.) Manifold is back now.]

The queries have generally included a VALUE statement defining one or more source tables. They have usually or always involved tables in a temporary child database (the visible kind).

I am becoming extremely careful about exporting my code.

This is at least with build 9.0.168.0, possibly also with 9.0.168.4 (not sure).

I'm not sure I've got enough detail to send a report to Tech yet.

Can other people keep an eye out for this sort of behaviour, and add a notes if they see it too? I'll post if it happens again.

tjhb

8,335 post(s)
#10-Nov-18 05:48

I am becoming extremely careful about exporting my code.

On the other hand, one of the many things I love about 9, all the time every day, is that we can copy a whole folder in the Project pane, switch to another instance, and paste the whole lot at once.

In Manifold 8 I used to use scripts to export everything carefully to a file system folder. That reduced risk and increased convenience, fine, but what is built in to 9 is much quicker and cleaner.